Last post in Las Palmas

31-03-2014 21:22

Today is my last post while living in Las Palmas. I'm going to write quite a lot so I'll only use one language this time. Let's start with what happened today. We had a fun day with already a lot of goodbyes from teachers and we also got cards from the students from 2° BACH. D and those cards were amazing. I thought they were great! Tomorrow there wil be a small party during the break with the teachers and it will be hard to leave this part of our lives behind, since we are going to step on the plane on Wednesday. This project has been great and It has changed my life forever. I learned a new language, did things that I always dreamed of doing and made better friends than I could possibly imagine before this project...

I'm not going to lie, it hasn't always been the easiest thing to do. Problems that showed up on the road and people you miss in your own country. It has had it's ups and downs, but in the end, it has been worth it. Seeing the world has always been my dream and starting to achieve my goals is a breathtaking feeling. I learned what I want to do with my life and what is important. I'll carry these people, friends and even familymembers in my heart until the end of times.

If I would know what I know now, 1 year ago.... I would never have doubted 1 second to subscribe. This is who I want to be... not a citizen of Belgium or Spain or any other country. I want to be a citizen of the world. Let it be my home. I hope this blog has encouraged other people to take those steps outside of your comfort-zone and do things that are extraordinary. Believe me... that leap of faith will pay of in the end.

One of the first things I will do when I get back to Belgium is asking to join this project again, because how amazing this might have been... my work isn't finished. There's too much left to see ;)

Maybe until next year? :)

Thybo 

PS. Anyone with any questions about studying in another country may always send me an e-mail at thybowastyn@hotmail.com